a tickle of words to create smiles

Archive for November 10, 2012

Appreciating New Experiences

I love and appreciate experiencing new things. For example, I am currently involved in NaNoWriMo for the first time. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month and NaNoWriMo.org sponsors a 50,000 word challenge during the month of November.

The premise is that you write your novel (a genre of your choice) during the month of November and you try to reach or exceed 50,000 words, which is probably equivalent to 125 pages without space between lines.  I have a little over 12,000 words written so far and it is my goal to have over 15,000 words written before the weekend is over. The idea is to create a first draft. I am trying very hard not to edit my work as I go; but, I tend to reread what I wrote; furthermore, I find myself going back and deleting, rewriting and adding more content.

On the NaNoWriMo site, I have writing buddies. With the buddy system, I have found wonderful support. My writing buddies keep me accountable so that I am writing everyday. I never had writing buddies before. The site also sends pep-talk messages from notable published writers.

Another new experience  that I appreciate is serving on a committee for a tree-planting event. I am working with 2 phenomenal women, who are as enthusiastic as I am to educate our community and promote the tree-planting event, the importance of planting trees and how to do it properly in our local environment. We have laid out a tentative plan, which we will present to our environmental group later this month. I delight in finding new experiences to try, meeting new people and doing new things. What new experiences have you tried and appreciated lately?