a tickle of words to create smiles

Archive for January 26, 2012

Enthusiasm

Enthusiasm is one of my favorite words as it expresses joy in action; it is having a keen interest, excitement, fervor or zeal in a cause or subject. It is cheerful and exciting because it expresses a higher level of energy. It is being passionate with joy for those items in our life that we consider important. Enthusiasm is a word that has its origins in the Greek language for “inspired by God.”

Enthusiasm is tossed into a group of such delicious words  such as: ardor, avidity, conviction, craze, dash, devotion, eagerness, earnestness, ecstasy, élan, emotion, energy, exhilaration, fanaticism, feeling, fervor,  fire, flame, flare, frenzy, fury, gaiety, glow, gusto, heat, hilarity, hobby, impetuosity, intensity, interest, joy, keenness, life, mania, mirth, nerve, oomph, orgasm, passion, pep, rapture, relish, snap, spirit, transport, vehemence, verve, vim, vivacity, warmth, zeal, zealousness, and zest

Norman Vincent Peale stated, “If you have zest and enthusiasm you attract zest and enthusiasm. Life does give back in kind.” 

I agree wholeheartedly with Norman Vincent Peale. I have yet to find people who are not affected by my enthusiasm. Case in point, a week ago today, I was returning from a bittersweet trip to Rhode Island and I was standing among many tired co-travelers as we waited at the gate for our carry-on luggage that was too large for the overhead compartments. No one was smiling except me. Taking notice of all the glum and weariness, I made a point to become enthusiastic about getting my luggage, having made a safe trip to our destination and being minutes away from a warm bed.  I soon had most of us equally enthusiastic, too. It was great to see others smile with me. I think there was only one older woman in her twilight years who hung onto her scowl. Given a little more time, I believe I would have gotten a hint of a smile from her, too. 

This leads me to a quote by Charles Schwab, “A man can succeed at almost anything for which he has unlimited enthusiasm.”  And, Vince Lombardi said, “If you aren’t fired with enthusiasm, you will be fired with enthusiasm.” (He cracks me up!)  Ralph Waldo Emerson stated, “Enthusiasm is the mother of effort, and without it nothing great was ever achieved.”  

In the words of Henry Ford: Enthusiasm is the yeast that makes your hopes shine to the stars. Enthusiasm is the sparkle in your eyes, the swing in your gait. The grip of your hand, the irresistible surge of will and energy to execute your ideas. In my words, enthusiasm is the twinkle in my toes and the wiggle in my nose; it is the swing in my hips and the smile upon my lips! Enthusiasm is the thumping of my heart to the beat of my ideas that drums out a rhythm of inspiration for all to see. 

Oliver Wendell Holmes wonderfully sums it up, “It’s FAITH IN something and  ENTHUSIASM FOR something that makes LIFE WORTH LIVING.” Are you embracing your ENTHUSIASM FOR something? 

Awareness

Awareness is an understanding and a comprehension of what is around you and in your heart and soul. Wikipedia suggests that awareness is the state or ability to perceive, to feel, or to be conscious of events, objects or sensory patterns. In biological psychology, awareness is defined as a human’s or an animal’s perception and cognitive reaction to a condition or event.

You feel and/or perceive the information in your environment, internal and/or external. Like I am aware that I am typing these words and phrases and you are aware that you are reading this statement. I am aware that I am cold and need to throw on another layer of clothes. I am aware that I am tired (in a good way) and hungry.

We have a sense of who we are and of our environment. Sometimes it can be a full understanding or comprehension of how every experience in our lives illuminates who we are and where we need to go. It is clarity. It is a peace of mind. It is blissful. Awareness is the first step towards change and development. Once we know who and what we are through awareness; then, decisions can be made about what action to take next. Awareness can sometimes be frightening. Honor that fear and embrace the next step. Allow your newly acquired awareness of who you are and where you are in your life lead your heart.