a tickle of words to create smiles

Archive for May 25, 2012

Happiness, are you wearing it?

On the kickoff of Memorial Day weekend I found myself at our local warehouse store where you can buy things in bulk and get a hot dog meal for $1.50 (U.S. dollars). I took this opportunity to really watch people as they shopped, worked and express their emotions. Breathing room was a bit compromised as it was more crowded than usual. Shopping carts were filled with every item imaginable to make the first cookouts of the season successful. 

What was most interesting to me was how people were working and shopping given these circumstances. I found those shoppers who were more laid back and took their time had smiles in their eyes and across their faces. They were also the people who were more likely to make eye contact with you and they made it a point to say to others fellow shoppers, “hello”, “excuse me, please”, and “you go ahead.”

I was also intrigued how most of the staff of the warehouse store were so pleasant, polite and genuinely happy to be working, doing their duties and serving customers. To observe them enjoy their jobs put a smile in my heart. It made my shopping experience joyful and memorable.

On the flip-side, those individuals who were in a hurry, determined to get through one more chore and/or talking on their mobile phones wore different expressions. They were pensive, stressed, annoyed and a few even expressed irritation as they rolled their eyes, gave a dirty look or sighed in disbelief of not being able to move quickly through the store. I wonder how their day could have been different if they chose to wear happiness? I invite you to choose to wear your happiness this weekend. Happy Memorial Day weekend!

Incidentally, if you wish to hear me speak on the topic of bullying, I will be a guest speaker on the Create-A-Way Radio show on Sunday, May 27 at 2 p.m. Eastern Time. Here is the link: 

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/createaway/2012/05/27/create-a-way-today–overcoming-bullying–with-dr-angi 

I hope you can join me!