a tickle of words to create smiles

Authenticity

How does one define authenticity? Authenticity is the state of being real, truthful, genuine and/or sincere. One of the hardest things to do is to be authentic when you do not know who you are. Defining yourself and your purpose builds confidence and authenticity; furthermore, with authenticity, you build relationships based on love and trust.

That is great if you know who you are; but, suppose you are not clear on your purpose and/or who you truly are? A good place to start is to place yourself in front of a mirror and state your name, “I am…[insert your name]” Then follow this up with all those positive affirmations that you know are true about yourself, “I am smart; I am open to new ideas; I am a good listener; I am a good friend; I am a great parent; I am wonderful spouse; I am…” Allow the list to go on and on.

Then write these positive affirmations down on notes you can stick all over the place to remind you of exactly all the wonderful things you are. Also, consider all the activities and events that bring you joy. Write these down in a notebook or journal, along with all the positive affirmations. Reflect on these, as these begin to define who you are authentically.

Guess what? You are what you think you are. You become your words and your thoughts. Also, you get to choose those words and thoughts every single day and every single moment of your life. There are many methods to help people clarify who they are and their purpose. A phenomenal way to gain clarity is through life coaching and/or mental health counseling. Now, consider the following, are you being true to yourself and others? What are you thinking right now? Are they positive thoughts?  Remember, thoughts become reality.

Comments on: "Authenticity" (8)

  1. Earl Nightingales ‘The Strangest Secret’ is “your become what you think about”. In scripture it is stated “as a man thinketh in his heart, so is he”. This is such an important message. Is the painting a self portrait? A reflection in the mirror. Well done!

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Grandfathersky. Among other literature such as scripture, Dr. Wayne Dyer’s books, SARK’s books and others; a great influence upon me is Norman Vincent Peale’s The Power of Positive Thinking. As for my artwork, I feel all of my art is a self-reflection as it stems from me; however, now that I look at her she does have my blue eyes and auburn brown hair. With joy and blessings, Angi

      • I thoroughly enjoy Wayne Dyer. Especially his latest movie The Shift. You should check out Dr David Hawkins. You’ll see the influence he has had on Dr Dyer… Yes our creations are all our children aren’t they.

  2. While positive thinking and doing is a great way to battle depression and overcome obstacles of life, it hardly defines authenticity. I feel that authenticity is derived through the realization of the chains that hold you into society. While there is nothing wrong with how one interacts with others, its another thing to not understand why.

    To stand in front of a mirror and force yourself to say “I am… a beautiful person” is the same as saying “I want to be a beautiful person in the eyes of those around me.” The end results remain the same, but ignorance remains the same.

    Ah, but alas, ignorance is bliss. While I fell that the ignorance of the world needs realized in order to progress to further heights of humanity, I cannot blame someone embraces ignorance to be happy.

    From the content of the post, I imagine you have read “The Secret”, but if you haven’t, please do. It is a great read and has many stories and methods of improving your personal image with positive reinforcement.

  3. Angi, nice post! I truly believe in what you say. I believe it is easier to discover your authentic self than to express your authentic self and I APPLAUD you for your authentic, philosophic views you’ve expressed here. Thanks for the sincere reflection on a dear topic.

    • Thank you so very much Wendy. I was beginning to wonder if it was a bit shallow; but, I feel we all need a starting point to finding our True North (reminds me of Kathryn Antyr’s art, work and purpose).

Leave a comment