a tickle of words to create smiles

Words Have POWER!

AKO-BeGentle

In the words of Andrew Jackson, “I will speak ill of no one, and speak all the good I know of everybody.”

Andrew Jackson knew the power of words, as did many great people in our history. Currently, more and more people are aware of the power of words. October 1st kicks off National Bullying Prevention Month, in which PACER – Parent Advocacy Coalition for Educational Rights has led the way ((http://www.pacer.org/bullying/nbpm/).

I am very passionate about overcoming bullying. Bullying is no longer about the big kid stealing the little kid’s lunch money. It is so much more involved and dynamic; furthermore, with the help of technology has crept into the realm of cyberspace aka cyberbullying.

Words indeed become quite powerful. The digital age makes it so very easy. It is my hope that we can use words to bring more love and kindness into our immediate environments. Let us use our power of words to heal, not hurt. Let us serve as an example to those who do not know any better, namely our children. Spread news that is good. Share words that is helpful. Let us put into practice T-H-I-N-K:

AKO-THINKWe also need to remember to be gentle with our own selves. I know I have bullied myself at times when I am feeling upset or sad, especially when I have felt like I could have done better, looked better, be better, etc. I need to remember that I am perfectly imperfect and wonderful just as I am. I do not need to berate myself with words, when I have made a mistake. I will ultimately grow and develop from the mistake, as long as I learn from it. Each of our experiences: good or bad, success or failure, happy or sad, will help us. Reflect and learn is a positive way to use these events in our lives. Remember, words have power!

Comments on: "Words Have POWER!" (2)

  1. GREAT MESSAGE!!!

Leave a comment